You are here


Within this section you find a selection of translated Sutras from the Āgamas. In Buddhism, an āgama is a collection of scriptures. The five āgamas together comprise the Sūtra Piṭaka. The Sūtra Piṭaka forms together with the Vinaya and Abhidharma Piṭaka the so called Tripiṭaka (corpus of scriptures of an early Buddhist school). There are four extant collections of āgamas, and one for which we have only references and fragments (Kṣudrakāgama). Āgamas of various schools (mainly Sarvāstivāda) are preserved in Chinese translation, and portions also survive in Sanskrit and Tibetan.

Art Gallery: Marc Gutzwiller (Switzerland)